top of page

My North Carolina election predictions: 2020 U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives Districts


(Source: https://pixabay.com/vectors/north-carolina-map-state-geography-43772/)

(Note: The Democratic Party primary predictions are listed first followed by the Republicans after the slash (/). My general election prediction is after the semicolon (;). I also list candidates in order based on how they will finish within their political party (and I expect to get a lot of these wrong). I reserve the right to change my general election predictions. I think I should be given credit for at least making a prediction even if some of them are wrong.)

Who I expect to win North Carolina:

U.S. Senate: Cunningham/Tillis; (Ask me in October 2020) Tillis, Cunningham, Bray

Several polls taken over time generally suggest that the Democrat is going to win the General Election.

The most recent poll taken on February 27th and 28th from East Carolina University says Tillis will defeat Cunningham 44% to 42% with a margin of error of +-3.2% and 14% is undecided.

I think Tillis is probably going to win in part because he is the incumbent North Carolina U.S. Senator and a Democrat (Kay Hagan) has only been a U.S. Senator in that state for six years dating back to the start of the year 2005 basically.

Hagan served in office from 2009 through 2014.

However, the Democrats have some hope as the last two U.S. Senators in this class or line who were up for re-election in 2008 and 2014 lost and the winner was from a different political party as the incumbent running for re-election.

Ask me who I think will win again in October 2020. Media outlets are saying it is going to be a tossup race while “The Cook Political Report” says it is going to lean Republican.

Democrats: Cunningham, Erica D. Smith, Fuller, Goel, Swenson

Republicans: Tillis, Hudson, Wright, Holmquist

Other Parties: Shannon Bray (Libertarian), Kevin E. Hayes (Constitution), Jeremy Thomas (Independence)

According to ballotpedia.org, Bray, Hayes and Thomas have already advanced to the general election.

Richard Burr (Republican) and Thom Tillis (Republican) are the current U.S. Senators from North Carolina.

Burr was first elected in 2004. Tillis was first elected in 2014.

Burr, if he chooses to run, will be up for re-election in 2022.

Here are my predictions for the U.S. House of Representatives in North Carolina. These are just the predictions I feel comfortable sharing with the world at this time without looking like a complete fool and being uninformed:

Congressional District 1: G.K. Butterfield/Smith; Butterfield

Republicans: Sandy Smith, Michele Nix, Ethan Baca, James Glisson

D2: Deborah Ross/Swain; Ross, Swain, Maternu

Democrats: Ross, Johnson-Hostler, Terrell, Nelson

D3: Farrow/Murphy; Murphy

D4: Price/Shaikh; Shaikh

Republicans: Shaikh, Von Loor, Sarkar, Thomas

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page