top of page

2023 Week Six College Football Division I-A Game Predictions To Win


(Photo credit: Images in Media from Wix; Search for "American Football")


By: Evan Troxel


Week Six, of Division I-A college football here we are. (Week Seven technically).


I hope all of you enjoy my predictions every week.


I enjoy posting my predictions, but I never really like to think about my predictions much or at all before posting them! But I usually think about them a little bit, especially for the games that "seem" important or are "noteworthy" or are going to be noticed by everyone. Honestly, I probably think about a handful of predictions way too much, when some games probably should just be no-brainer predictions.


I am writing this on Friday afternoon, October 6th. I have won every game so far this week (4 wins 0 losses) for Division I-A college football so far.


I will hopefully post my updated and overall won-lost record for my predictions for the entire Division I-A college football season, before tomorrow's (Saturday, October 7th) games right here on this page, this story. I think I posted my overall won-lost record for my predictions before last week's games were played.


So here are my predictions for the past two days if you haven't seen them on one of my various social media outlets/channels yet:


Wednesday, October 4th:


Predictions to win: Jacksonville State, New Mexico State


Predictions to lose: Middle Tennessee, Florida International


Thursday, October 5th:


Predictions to win: Liberty, Western Kentucky


Predictions to lose: Sam Houston, Louisiana Tech


Obviously, as everyone has probably figured out by now, I am not a fan of college football games being played on any day except for Saturday. I'm not going to lie, I am glad the Nebraska Cornhuskers football team is not playing on Saturday this week. Why? Because I have had a busy week seemingly all week this week and I just want to relax all day on Saturday and enjoy myself (unlike last Saturday where I stupidly watched Michigan destroy Nebraska on television, knowing Michigan was probably going to win. Of course, I predicted Michigan to win. So I would have actually been probably even more upset if Nebraska would have won last week because I care about my predictions more than the team who I actually and genuinely really want to win, because I always want to be right with my predictions!) I am glad I don't have to worry about watching a Nebraska Cornhuskers football game on Saturday this week. Instead, Nebraska plays on Friday night. I am probably going to pick Nebraska to win. I still haven't decided yet as I am typing this.


On ESPN's matchup predictor Illinois is favored over Nebraska 61.5% to 38.5% as I am typing this on Friday afternoon. Illinois is also a three-point favorite over Nebraska right now on the ESPN website.


Nebraska lost to Illinois 26-9 in Lincoln, Nebraska, on October 29th, 2022. Nebraska also lost to Illinois 30-22 in Champaign, Illinois, on August 28th, 2021. Nebraska lost to Illinois in Lincoln, Nebraska, 41-23 on November 21st, 2020.


Nebraska LAST WON against Illinois in Champaign 42-38 on September 21st, 2019. Nebraska won 54-35 in Lincoln, Nebraska, against Illinois on November 10th, 2018. Nebraska won 28-6 on September 29th, 2017, against Illinois in Champaign. Nebraska won 31-16 on October 1st, 2016, in Lincoln, Nebraska, against Illinois.


Nebraska lost 14-13 at Champaign, Illinois, against Illinois on October 3rd, 2015.


So Nebraska is 4-4 against Illinois since Bo Pelini got fired from Nebraska as head coach in 2014. Do I really think Illinois can beat Nebraska? I don't know. Maybe. Even if they can, it is objectively going to be extremely hard for me to pick Illinois to win this game anyway.


If I don't post my predictions today (Friday, October 6th, 2023) here in this story (especially for Saturday's games) I will be posting them on Saturday morning, October 7th.


So here are my predictions for the remainder of the Division I-A college football games this week:


Friday, October 6th:


Kansas State Wildcats at Oklahoma State Cowboys: Prediction to win: Kansas State, Prediction to lose: Oklahoma State

Nebraska Cornhuskers at Illinois Fighting Illini: Prediction to win: Nebraska, Prediction to lose: Illinois


Saturday, October 7th:


Oklahoma Sooners at Texas Longhorns: Prediction to win: Texas, Prediction to lose: Oklahoma


Oklahoma is favored to win according to ESPN's matchup predictor right now.


I thought about picking Oklahoma to win. I just cannot do it though. Oklahoma has been in the College Football Playoff too many times already and hasn't even won a game yet. Texas beat Alabama earlier this year!


Maryland Terrapins at Ohio State Buckeyes: Prediction to win: Ohio State, Prediction to lose: Maryland


I could see this game as a potential upset in which Maryland wins.


LSU Tigers at Missouri Tigers: Prediction to win: LSU, Prediction to lose: Missouri

Boston College Golden Eagles at Army Black Knights: Prediction to win: Boston College, Prediction to lose: Army


Western Michigan Broncos at Mississippi State Bulldogs: Prediction to win: Mississippi State, Prediction to lose: Western Michigan

Rutgers Scarlet Knights at Wisconsin Badgers: Prediction to win: Wisconsin, Prediction to lose: Rutgers

William & Mary Tribe at Virginia Cavaliers: Prediction to win: Virginia, Prediction to lose: William & Mary


Toledo Rockets at UMass Minutemen: Prediction to win: Toledo, Prediction to lose: UMass

Marshall Thundering Herd at North Carolina State Wolfpack: Prediction to win: North Carolina State, Prediction to lose: Marshall


Either team could win the above game.


UTSA Roadrunners at Temple Owls: Prediction to win: UTSA, Prediction to lose: Temple


Central Michigan Chippewas at Buffalo Bulls: Prediction to win: Buffalo, Prediction to lose: Central Michigan


I like Buffalo to win because they had a better overall won-lost record than Central Michigan did last year. However, either team could win this game.


Washington State Cougars at UCLA Bruins: Prediction to win: UCLA, Prediction to lose: Washington State


I think UCLA is barely going to win this game. Undefeated Washington State has got punched in the mouth already this season while UCLA really hasn't yet (until last week against Utah). Washington State beat ranked opponents Wisconsin and Oregon State this season already! UCLA lost to Utah last week. UCLA isn't even ranked right now while Washington State is ranked! This is the first Pac-12 conference game of the season in Pasadena for UCLA, so, of course I expect UCLA to win. I guess we'll see what happens!


Howard Bison at Northwestern Wildcats: Prediction to win: Northwestern, Prediction to lose: Howard


Virginia Tech Hokies at Florida State Seminoles

Alabama Crimson Tide at Texas A&M Aggies: Prediction to win: Alabama, Prediction to lose: Texas A&M


Texas A&M isn't ranked currently and Alabama is. This is an afternoon game, so Texas A&M doesn't have much of a shot to actually win this game! Texas A&M lost to Miami (FL) of all teams this season! Sure, Texas defeated Alabama this season, but everybody somewhat expected that! I don't think most people actually expected Texas A&M to lose to Miami (FL) this season.


Syracuse Orange at North Carolina Tar Heels: Prediction to win: North Carolina, Prediction to lose: Syracuse


I just don't see Syracuse winning this game. Syracuse could beat North Carolina though!


Purdue Boilermakers at Iowa Hawkeyes: Prediction to win: Iowa, Prediction to lose: Purdue

Wake Forest Demon Deacons at Clemson Tigers: Prediction to win: Clemson, Prediction to lose: Wake Forest


Either team could win the above game.


North Texas Mean Green at Navy Midshipmen: Prediction to win: North Texas, Prediction to lose: Navy


I cannot believe people are picking Navy to win this game. Just look at the scores from every game for both of these teams this season. It is easy to tell that North Texas absolutely SHOULD WIN this game!


Texas State Bobcats at Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns: Prediction to win: Texas State, Prediction to lose: Louisiana


Either team could win this game. I like Texas State to win this game just by looking at the scores from earlier this season for both teams. It seems like both teams are great one week and then terrible the next week for offense, for defense, or both, in terms of the scoring is concerned. This is the most interesting game for me of the entire college football slate up to this point on Saturday (except for any games at the exact same kickoff time as this game or after it)! Texas State is 4-1 while Louisiana is 3-2 which is why I like Texas State to win this game! If I had more time I would look at the scores of these games both of these teams have played so far this season before making a prediction, but I just don't have the time for that right now. I might honestly change my prediction and pick Louisiana to win before game time. Be sure to come back to this page within about 15 to 30 minutes before game time, to see if I changed my prediction or not. If you like seeing lots of scoring and defensive at the right time or the opportune moment, this might be the game for you to watch today!


Follow-up note: I can't defend Louisiana to win this game. They haven't beaten anybody yet and they lost to Old Dominion who looks like a good team despite whatever their current won-lost record is right now. Sure, Texas State beat Baylor in Week 1 and maybe that is a fluke, but they have won three straight since losing to UTSA (who seems like a good team this year)! Sure, Texas State had some problems against Southern Miss last week, but it looks like Texas State is scoring at least 28 this week no matter what and their defense should be better this week than last week and their defense might only give up 22 points or less this week. Defensively, Louisiana gave up 38 points two weeks ago and four weeks ago as well, so I won't be surprised if that happens again! Offensively, Louisiana might score 35 on Saturday (they put up 24 points last week and only scored 31 against Old Dominion), so I don't expect them to score much more than 35 against a good Texas State team. This game is going to be really close and if Louisiana's defense doesn't show up and gives up like 36 points, Louisiana probably isn't going to win unless offensively they score 37 or 38 (or more)! Both defenses have averaged 31.3 points per game within the last three games (and maybe that makes Texas State look like a bad team and not a good team which is why Louisiana might actually win, since everyone knows who Louisiana is better than Texas State as a football program generally speaking.)


If the writing looks weird at any point in this story and my sentence just suddenly stops, it is my Internet being slow and doing things that I don't necessarily want it to do!


Ball State Cardinals at Eastern Michigan Eagles: Prediction to win: Eastern Michigan, Prediction to lose: Ball State


Ball State or Eastern Michigan could win this game.


Bowling Green Falcons at Miami (OH) Redhawks: Prediction to win: Miami (OH), Prediction to lose: Bowling Green


Kent State Golden Flashes at Ohio Bobcats: Prediction to win: Ohio, Prediction to lose: Kent State

Northern Illinois Huskies at Akron Zips: Prediction to win: Northern Illinois, Prediction to lose: Akron


Northern Illinois should win this game. Either team can win this game though.


Vanderbilt Commodores at Florida Gators: Prediction to win: Florida, Prediction to lose: Vanderbilt


UCF at Kansas Jayhawks: Prediction to win: UCF, Prediction to lose: Kansas

This is going to be a close game I think. Kansas objectively looks like the better team based on how the season has gone so far in terms of their won-lost record, but I think UCF will find a way to get it done this week!


South Florida Bulls at UAB Blazers: Prediction to win: South Florida, Prediction to lose: UAB

Arkansas State Red Wolves at Troy Trojans: Prediction to win: Troy, Prediction to lose: Arkansas State


UConn Huskies at Rice Owls: Prediction to win: Rice, Prediction to lose: UConn

Tulsa Golden Hurricane at Florida Atlantic Owls: Prediction to win: Tulsa, Prediction to lose: Florida Atlantic

Colorado Buffaloes at Arizona State Sun Devils: Prediction to win: Colorado, Prediction to lose: Arizona State


Kentucky Wildcats at Georgia Bulldogs: Prediction to win: Georgia, Prediction to lose: Kentucky

South Alabama Jaguars at UL Monroe Warhawks: Prediction to win: UL Monroe, Prediction to lose: South Alabama


South Alabama might win this game though. They are heavily favored to win at the moment.

Old Dominion Monarchs at Southern Miss Golden Eagles: Prediction to win: Southern Miss, Prediction to lose: Old Dominion


Old Dominion might win this game though.


Michigan Wolverines at Minnesota Golden Gophers: Prediction to win: Michigan, Prediction to lose: Minnesota

Arkansas Razorbacks at Ole Miss Rebels: Prediction to win: Ole Miss, Prediction to lose: Arkansas

Notre Dame Fighting Irish at Louisville Cardinals: Prediction to win Notre Dame, Prediction to lose: Louisville


Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets at Miami (FL) Hurricanes: Prediction to win: Miami (FL), Prediction to lose: Georgia Tech

Fresno State Bulldogs at Wyoming Cowboys: Prediction to win: Fresno State, Prediction to lose: Wyoming


Wyoming could win this game.


Texas Tech Red Raiders at Baylor Bears: Prediction to win: Baylor, Prediction to lose: Texas Tech


Texas Tech could win this game.


TCU Horned Frogs at Iowa State Cyclones: Prediction to win: TCU, Prediction to lose: Iowa State

Colorado State Rams at Utah State Aggies: Prediction to win: Colorado State, Prediction to lose: Utah State


I thought about picking Utah State to win, but I just couldn't do it.


San Jose State Spartans at Boise State Broncos: Prediction to win: Boise State, Prediction to lose: San Jose State


Oregon State Beavers at California Golden Bears: Prediction to win: Oregon State, Prediction to lose: California

Arizona Wildcats at USC Trojans: Prediction to win: USC, Prediction to lose: Arizona




Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page