top of page

2023 Week One College Football Division I-A Predictions To Win


(Image in Unsplash from Wix.com)


By: Evan Troxel


(Ignore the asterisks and whatever else looks out of place. I am posting this at the last minute. I made most of these predictions well over a week ago! I also decided to pick Nebraska to defeat Minnesota at the last minute. I originally had Minnesota defeating Nebraska, but I decided to change my mind! Also, I won't be surprised if P.J. Fleck gets terminated/fired at the end of the season.)


The matchups for Week One, technically Week Two, are in order like it is shown on the ESPN website: https://www.espn.com/college-football/schedule


My predictions for 2023 Week Zero in NCAA Division I-A College Football resulted in five wins and two losses! (Note: I initially wrote this as five wins and three losses and that was incorrect, an honest mistake.)


Here are my predictions to win and lose for NCAA Division I-A College Football for Week One!


(I put every third matchup in the color green so that you don't have to try so hard to find your favorite matchup of Week One!)


Thursday, August 31st, 2023

*Elon Phoenix (I-AA, Coastal Athletic Association: 6-2, 8-4) at Wake Forest Demon Deacons (I-A, ACC, 3-5, 8-5): Prediction to win: Wake Forest, Prediction to lose: Elon

Kent State (I-A, Mid-American: 4-4, 5-7) at UCF (I-A, American Athletic: 6-2, 9-5): Prediction to win: UCF, Prediction to lose: Kent State

Rhode Island (I-AA, Coastal Athletic Association: 5-3, 7-4) at Georgia State Panthers (I-A, Sun Belt: 3-5, 4-8): Prediction to win: Georgia State, Prediction to lose: Rhode Island

St. Francis (PA) Red Flash (I-AA, Northeast: 7-0, 9-3) at Western Michigan (I-A, Mid-American: 4-4, 5-7): Prediction to win: Western Michigan, Prediction to lose: St. Francis (PA)

*NC State Wolfpack (I-A, ACC, 4-4, 8-5) at UConn Huskies (I-A, FBS Independent: 6-7): Prediction to win: NC State, Prediction to lose: UConn

Florida Gators (I-A, SEC: 3-5, 6-7) at Utah Utes (I-A, Pac-12: 7-2, 10-4): Prediction to win: Florida, Prediction to lose: Utah

Nebraska Cornhuskers (I-A, Big Ten: 3-6, 4-8) at Minnesota Golden Gophers (I-A, Big Ten: 5-4, 9-4): Prediction to win: Nebraska, Prediction to lose: Minnesota

South Dakota Coyotes (I-AA, Missouri Valley Football: 2-6, 3-8) at Missouri Tigers (I-A, SEC: 3-5, 6-7): Prediction to win: Missouri, Prediction to lose: South Dakota

Arkansas-Pine Bluff Golden Lions (I-AA, Southwestern Athletic: 1-7, 3-8) at Tulsa Golden Hurricane (I-A, American Athletic: 3-5, 5-7): Prediction to win: Tulsa, Prediction to lose: Arkansas-Pine Bluff

North Carolina A&T Aggies (I-AA, Big South: 4-1, 7-4) at UAB Blazers (I-A, Conference USA, 4-4, 7-6): Prediction to win: North Carolina A&T, Prediction to lose: UAB

Southern Utah Thunderbirds (I-AA, Western Athletic: 2-3, 5-6) at Arizona State Sun Devils (I-A, Pac-12: 2-7, 3-9): Prediction to win: Arizona State, Prediction to lose: Southern Utah


Friday, September 1st, 2023

Howard Bison (I-AA, Mid-Eastern Athletic: 4-1, 5-6) at Eastern Michigan Eagles (I-A, Mid-American, 5-3, 9-4): Prediction to win: Eastern Michigan, Prediction to lose: Howard

Central Michigan Chippewas (I-A, Mid-American: 3-5, 4-8) at Michigan State Spartans (I-A, Big Ten: 3-6, 5-7): Prediction to win: Michigan State, Prediction to lose: Central Michigan

Miami (OH) Redhawks (I-A, Mid-American: 4-4, 6-7) at Miami (FL) Hurricanes (I-A, ACC: 3-5, 5-7): Prediction to win: Miami (FL), Prediction to lose: Miami (OH)

*Louisville Cardinals (I-A, ACC: 4-4, 8-5) at Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets (I-A, ACC: 4-4, 5-7): Prediction to win: Louisville, Prediction to lose: Georgia Tech

Missouri State (I-AA, Missouri Valley Football: 3-5, 5-6) at Kansas Jayhawks (I-A, Big 12: 3-6, 6-7): Prediction to win: Kansas, Prediction to lose: Missouri State

Stanford Cardinal (I-A, Pac-12: 1-8, 3-9) at Hawai’i Rainbow Warriors (I-A, Mountain West: 2-6, 3-10), Prediction to win: Stanford, Prediction to lose: Hawaii


Saturday, September 2nd, 2023

East Carolina Pirates (I-A, American Athletic: 4-4, 8-5) at Michigan Wolverines (I-A, Big Ten: 9-0, 13-1): Prediction to win: Michigan, Prediction to lose: East Carolina

Virginia Cavaliers (I-A, ACC: 1-6, 3-7) at Tennessee Volunteers (I-A, SEC: 6-2, 11-2): Prediction to win: Tennessee, Prediction to lose: Virginia

Colorado Buffaloes (I-A, Pac-12: 1-8, 1-11) at TCU Horned Frogs (I-A, Big 12: 9-0, 13-2): Prediction to win: TCU, Prediction to lose: Colorado

Arkansas State Red Wolves (I-A, Sun Belt: 1-7, 3-9) at Oklahoma Sooners (I-A, Big 12: 3-6, 6-7): Prediction to win: Oklahoma, Prediction to lose: Arkansas State

Utah State Aggies (I-A, Mountain West: 5-3, 6-7) at Iowa Hawkeyes (I-A, Big Ten: 5-4, 8-5): Prediction to win: Iowa, Prediction to lose: Utah State

Ball State Cardinals (I-A, Mid-American: 3-5, 5-7) at Kentucky Wildcats (I-A, SEC: 3-5, 7-6): Prediction to win: Kentucky, Prediction to lose: Ball State

Bowling Green (I-A, Mid-American: 5-3, 6-7) at Liberty Flames (I-A, FBS Independent: 8-5): Prediction to win: Liberty, Prediction to lose: Bowling Green

Fresno State Bulldogs (I-A, Mountain West: 7-1, 10-4) at Purdue Boilermakers (I-A, Big Ten: 6-3, 8-6): Prediction to win: Purdue, Prediction to lose: Fresno State

Louisiana Tech Bulldogs (I-A, Conference USA: 2-6, 3-9) at SMU Mustangs (I-A, American Athletic: 5-3, 7-6): Prediction to win: SMU, Prediction to lose: Louisiana Tech

*Northern Illinois (I-A, Mid-American: 2-6, 3-9) at Boston College (I-A, ACC: 2-6, 3-9): Prediction to win: Boston College, Prediction to lose: Northern Illinois

Long Island University Sharks (I-AA, Northeast: 4-3, 4-7) at Ohio Bobcats (I-A, Mid-American: 7-1, 10-4): Prediction to win: Ohio, Prediction to lose: Long Island University

Robert Morris (I-AA, Big South: 0-5, 0-11) at Air Force Falcons (I-A, Mountain West: 5-3, 10-3): Prediction to win: Air Force, Prediction to lose: Robert Morris

Mercer (I-AA, Southern: 5-3, 7-4) at Ole Miss Rebels (I-A, SEC: 4-4, 8-5): Prediction to win: Ole Miss, Prediction to lose: Mercer

East Tennessee State at Jacksonville State: Prediction to win: Jacksonville State, Prediction to lose: East Tennessee State

Northern Iowa at Iowa State Cyclones: Prediction to win: Iowa State, Prediction to lose: Northern Iowa

Akron at Temple: Prediction to win: Temple, Prediction to lose: Akron

Portland State Vikings (I-AA, Big Sky: 3-5, 3-7) at Oregon Ducks (I-A, Pac-12: 7-2, 10-3): Prediction to win: Oregon, Prediction to win: Portland State

Ohio State Buckeyes at Indiana Hoosiers: Prediction to win: Ohio State, Prediction to lose: Indiana

Boise State Broncos at Washington Huskies: Prediction to win: Washington, Prediction to lose: Boise State

Rice Owls at Texas Longhorns: Prediction to win: Texas, Prediction to lose: Rice

Tennessee State Tigers (I-AA, Ohio Valley: 2-3, 4-7) at Notre Dame Fighting Irish (I-A, FBS Independent: 9-4): Prediction to win: Notre Dame, Prediction to lose: Tennessee State

Buffalo at Wisconsin Badgers: Prediction to win: Wisconsin, Prediction to lose: Buffalo

UMass at Auburn Tigers: Prediction to win: Auburn, Prediction to lose: UMass

Towson at Maryland Terrapins: Prediction to win: Maryland, Prediction to lose: Towson

South Florida at Western Kentucky: Prediction to win: Western Kentucky, Prediction to lose: South Florida

Wofford Terriers (I-AA, Southern: 3-5, 3-8) at Pittsburgh Panthers (I-A, ACC: 5-3, 9-4): Prediction to win: Pittsburgh, Predictions to lose: Wofford

Eastern Kentucky at Cincinnati Bearcats: Prediction to win: Cincinnati, Prediction to lose: Eastern Kentucky

Gardner-Webb at Appalachian State: Prediction to win: Appalachian State, Prediction to lose: Gardner-Webb

Western Carolina at Arkansas Razorbacks: Prediction to win: Arkansas, Prediction to lose: Western Carolina

SE Louisiana at Mississippi State: Prediction to win: Mississippi State, Prediction to lose: SE Louisiana

California Golden Bears (I-A, Pac-12: 2-7, 4-8) at North Texas Mean Green (I-A, Conference USA: 6-2, 7-7): Prediction to win: California, Prediction to lose: North Texas

Colgate Raiders (I-AA, Patriot League: 2-4, 3-8) at Syracuse Orangemen (I-A, ACC: 4-4, 7-8): Prediction to win: Syracuse, Prediction to lose: Colgate

Bryant at UNLV: Prediction to win: UNLV, Prediction to lose: Bryant

UT Martin at Georgia Bulldogs: Prediction to win: Georgia, Prediction to lose: UT Martin

South Carolina State at Charlotte 49ers: Prediction to win: Charlotte, Prediction to lose: South Carolina State

Monmouth at Florida Atlantic Owls: Prediction to win: Florida Atlantic, Prediction to lose: Monmouth

The Citadel at Georgia Southern: Prediction to win: Georgia Southern, Prediction to lose: The Citadel

Bucknell at James Madison, Prediction to win: James Madison, Prediction to lose: Bucknell

UAlbany at Marshall Thundering Herd: Prediction to win: Marshall, Prediction to lose: UAlbany

Nevada Wolf Pack at USC Trojans: Prediction to win: USC, Prediction to lose: Nevada

Maine at Florida International: Prediction to win: Florida International, Prediction to lose: Maine

Southeast Missouri State at Kansas State Wildcats: Prediction to win: Kansas State, Prediction to lose: Southeast Missouri State

New Mexico at Texas A&M Aggies: Prediction to win: Texas A&M, Prediction to lose: New Mexico

Army at UL Monroe: Prediction to win: UL Monroe, Prediction to lose: Army

Alabama A&M Bulldogs (I-AA, Southwestern Athletic: 4-4, 4-7) at Vanderbilt Commodores (I-A, SEC: 2-6, 5-7): Prediction to win: Vanderbilt, Prediction to lose: Alabama A&M

Washington State Cougars at Colorado State Rams: Prediction to win: Washington State, Prediction to lose: Colorado State

Texas State at Baylor Bears: Prediction to win: Baylor, Prediction to lose: Texas State

UTSA at Houston Cougars, Prediction to win: Houston, Prediction to lose: UTSA

Central Arkansas at Oklahoma State Cowboys: Prediction to win: Oklahoma State, Prediction to lose: Central Arkansas

Bethune-Cookman at Memphis Tigers: Prediction to win: Memphis, Prediction to lose: Bethune-Cookman

Alcorn State at Southern Mississippi: Prediction to win: Southern Miss, Prediction to lose: Alcorn State

Stephen F. Austin at Troy Trojans: Prediction to win: Stephen F. Austin, Prediction to lose: Troy

Middle Tennessee at Alabama Crimson Tide: Prediction to win: Alabama, Prediction to lose: Middle Tennessee

West Virginia Mountaineers at Penn State Nittany Lions: Prediction to win: Penn State, Prediction to lose: West Virginia

*North Carolina Tar Heels (I-A, ACC: 6-2, 9-5) at South Carolina Gamecocks (I-A, SEC: 4-4, 8-5): Prediction to win: North Carolina, Prediction to lose: South Carolina

Toledo Rockets (I-A, Mid-American: 5-3, 9-5) at Illinois Fighting Illini (I-A, Big Ten: 5-4, 8-5): Prediction to win: Illinois, Prediction to lose: Toledo

Texas Tech Red Raiders (I-A, Big 12: 5-4, 8-5) at Wyoming Cowboys (I-A, Mountain West, 5-3, 7-6): Prediction to win: Texas Tech, Prediction to lose: Wyoming

Northwestern State Demons (I-AA, Southland: 4-2, 4-7) at Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns (IA, Sun Belt: 4-4, 6-7): Prediction to win: Louisiana, Prediction to lose: Northwestern State

South Alabama Jaguars (I-A, Sun Belt: 7-1, 10-3) at Tulane Green Wave (I-A, American Athletic: 7-1, 12-2): Prediction to win: Tulane, Prediction to lose: South Alabama

Old Dominion Monarchs (I-A, Sun Belt: 2-6, 3-9) at Virginia Tech Hokies (I-A, ACC: 1-6, 3-8): Prediction to win: Virginia Tech, Prediction to lose: Old Dominion

Western Illinois Leathernecks (I-AA, Missouri Valley Football: 0-8, 0-11) at New Mexico State Aggies (FBS Independent: 7-6): Prediction to win: New Mexico State, Prediction to lose: Western Illinois

Incarnate Word Cardinals (I-AA, Southland: 5-1, 12-2) at UTEP Miners (I-A, C-USA: 3-5, 5-7): Prediction to win: Incarnate Word, Prediction to lose: UTEP

Northern Arizona Lumberjacks (I-AA, Big Sky: 2-6, 3-8) at Arizona Wildcats (I-A, Pac-12: 3-6, 5-7): Prediction to win: Arizona, Prediction to lose: Northern Arizona

Sam Houston Bearkats (I-AA, WAC: 3-2, 5-4) at BYU Cougars (I-A, FBS Independent: 8-5): Prediction to win: BYU, Prediction to lose: Sam Houston

Coastal Carolina Chanticleers (I-A, Sun Belt: 6-2, 9-4) at UCLA Bruins (I-A, Pac-12: 6-3, 9-4): Prediction to win: UCLA, Prediction to lose: Coastal Carolina

Idaho State Bengals (I-AA, Big Sky: 1-7, 1-10) at San Diego State Aztecs (I-A, Mountain West: 5-3, 7-6): Prediction to win: San Diego State, Prediction to lose: Idaho State


Sunday, September 3rd, 2023

Northwestern Wildcats (I-A, Big Ten: 1-8, 1-11) at Rutgers Scarlet Knights (I-A, Big Ten: 1-8, 4-8): Prediction to win: Northwestern, Prediction to lose: Rutgers

Oregon State Beavers (I-A, Pac-12: 6-3, 10-3) at San Jose State Spartans (I-A, Mountain West, 5-3, 7-5): Prediction to win: Oregon State, Prediction to lose: San Jose State

LSU Tigers (I-A, SEC: 6-2, 10-4) at Florida State Seminoles (I-A, ACC: 5-3, 10-3): Prediction to win: LSU, Prediction to lose: Florida State


Monday, September 4th, 2023

Clemson Tigers (I-A, ACC: 8-0, 11-3) at Duke Blue Devils (I-A, ACC: 5-3, 9-4): Prediction to win: Clemson, Prediction to lose: Duke


I will post the results for Week One (and my predictions for Week Two) in the near future! Thank you for reading this story!


If you really liked this story, please share it! Thank you!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page